Latest Tweets

Sailor of the Year with a Disability

2011 - 12 Daniel Fitzgibbon and Liesl Tesch

Daniel and Liesl won Gold at the London 2012 Paralympic Games

2010 - 11 Daniel Fitzgibbon and Liesl Tesch

Daniel and Liesl winning Gold at the ISAF Sailing World Cup in Miami before a win at the World Cup round in Weymouth, England.The pair then backed this results up a few weeks later with Bronze at the 2011 IFDS World Championship at te same venue.

2009 - 10 Angus MacGregor

Angus won the Access 2.3 World Championships in England with seven race wins from eight starts and he also finished fourth at the O'pen Bic Breizh Cup in France.

2008 - 09 Daniel Fitzgibbon and Rachael Cox

Daniel and Rachael showed great dedication to training for the 2008 Beijing Paralympics Games and were rewarded with the Silver medal in the SKUD 18 class. The pair have proven themselves as great sportspeople on and off the water.

2007 - 08 Daniel Fitzgibbon and Rachael Cox

Daniel and Rachael won Gold at the SKUD International Championships.  The pair went on to compete in the IFDS World Championships where they finished a respectable fifth.

2006- 07 Paul Borg & Kylie Forth

Paul and Kylie won the 2006 Homerus International Championships held in Imperia, Italy in May. Kylie is a blind amputee and the event was her first match racing experience. This is the same event Paul won in 2005 with Don Scott. In 2007, Kylie won the WA Access Class 303 Championship with Jess Harrison while Paul won the Victorian Access Class 303 Championship. Paul was the recipient of the 2006 Australian Yachting Awards Sailor of the Year with a Disability with Don Scott.

2005 - 06 Paul Borg and Don Scott

Paul, from Victoria, steered his way to a win at the 2005 International Match Racing Championships for Blind people in Italy, with Sydney sailor Don crewing.

2004-05 Joint winners Jamie Dunross, Colin Harrison, Jeff Milligan

Jamie, Colin and Jeff were members of the 2004 Australian paralympic Team and finished 5th in the Sonar class at the Athen Paralympics.  In addition, Jamie provides input to the strategic development of the sport through natinal conference particiipation and membership of the International Foundatoin for Disabled Sailing IFDS Equipment Evaluation Commission for the 2008 Paralympics

2003 - 04 Joint winners Andrew Hartley and Daniel Fitzgibbon

In his first Australian regatta since an accident left him a quadriplegic in 1997, Daniel Fitzgibbon took out the 2004 IFDS Single Person World Championship. Daniel Fitzgibbon citation.

Andrew Hartley showed true determination when he became the second ventilator-dependent quadriplegic in the world to sail solo. Andrew Hartley citation.

2002 - 03 Joint winners Paul Borg and Lindsay Dalmon

Paul Borg is heavily involved with the Sailability program,  and has secured a second placing at the Homerus World Sailing for the Blind regatta, and a win at the International Access Dinghy Championship - 303 Doubles event in Japan. Paul Borg citation.

Lindsay Dalmon competed in the 2.3 Singles event, winning the overall pointscore and was awarded the International Access Trophy. Lindsay Dalmon citation.

2001 - 02 Wayne Thomson

Winner of the First Autonomous World Blind Sailing Championship.

2000 - 01 Vinny Lauwers

The first sailor with a disability (paraplegic) to sail solo, non-stop & unassisted around the globe

1999 - 00 Peter Thompson

World Champion (disabled) in the 2.4mR class. Australian Champion, both open and disabled, in the 2.4mR class.


Program Partners

AIS_Gold_Stacked.png AOC

Australian Paralympic Committee logo


Major Co-Sponsors


Audi  Hamilton Island Zhik Logo Nautica        

Official Suppliers


Ronstan Blackmores DB Schenker MauiJim_New_0314_transparent      
  United Rope Solutions Protect Tape MauiJim_New_0314_transparent